Pre-paid SIM Card for the Philippines

The Republic of Philippines is an island nation in Southeast Asia, located in the Malay Archipelago. The nation comprises of 7,107 islands, with the total land area of about 116,000 square miles, which makes it the 72nd largest country by area. The modern people of the Philippines are mainly of Austronesian ancestry, along with good many Filipinos with Spanish, Chinese, American, and Arab ancestry. The Spanish started ruling the country in the year 1565, which lasted for three centuries, until the Philippine Revolution of 1896. In the year 1898, after the Spanish-American war, the Unites States gained possession of the Philippines. The Philippines was ruled by the Unites States for five decades.

Filipino culture has many similarities with the western countries. Most of the population in the Philippines is Roman Catholics and Filipino and English are the official languages of the country. The country became self governing in the year 1935, when Manuel QUEZON was elected President. He had the task to get the country ready for independence after a10-year transition. The Japanese took possession of the Philippines in 1942 during World War II, when the United States and the Philippines fought together from 1942 to 1945 to gain back the control. The country ultimately attained its independence on 4 July 1946. After the independence, 20-year rule of Ferdinand MARCOS ended in 1986, after a widespread popular rebellion ousted him and sent him into exile and put Corazon AQUINO as president of the country.

Corazon AQUINO went through quite a lot of coup attempts, which prevented the Philippines to return to normal political stability and economic development. During the time of the country’s consequent President, Fidel RAMOS, who was elected in 1992, political stability was somewhat restored and he made significant progress with the country’s economic reforms. The next President of Philippines, Joseph ESTRADA was elected in 1998 but was succeeded by his vice-president, Gloria MACAPAGAL-ARROYO in January 2001 for a 6-year term. Joseph ESTRADA was impeached on corruption charges.